Home > Uncategorized > Iron Rock or Badlands

Iron Rock or Badlands

I took some time to speak to officers and guild leaders on both Iron Rock and Badlands.

I had two goals:
1) To get an inside look at the servers we are considering moving to
2) to find new allies to help us grow and compete in a much larger pond

I found one alliance on each server who are interested in merging with us and they both seem to be a good fit with our alliance in different ways.   In the interest of saving time, I won’t bore you with details from the crappy guilds I also talked to.

Server: Badlands
Guild: Eridani Light Horse
ELH immediately invited me into their guild after answering my questions in the /advice channel.
I spoke with their guild leader Janmichael/Gotti.  They had 12 members on when I joined them and I found 7 of their members to be smart, funny, and mature: Daishar, Taneela, Harca, Kyred, Greywulfe, Malrith, Janmichael.  The others were quiet or busy.  They were finishing a guild-only crypts run and considering turning that into an LV run but were too tired.
Their guild does an equal mix of RvR and PvE.  They lead alliance warbands usually 9-15 in size and they “tend not to do PUGs” because they find that random people don’t cooperate.  They aren’t against PUGs though, they heard that PT had organized PUG days and thought that was a good thing.
They have 3 guilds (2 feeder guilds) in their alliance so they have room for us.
They find their destro to be “very good” and “ruthless”, but Order doesn’t feel completely outnumbered.
They said they had “lots of women” in their guild and mentioned 3 of them.  I found their guild chat environment very enjoyable.

When it was ELH’s turn to ask me questions, they asked about our guild names.  ELH has members from Percival DAOC, and members who play tabletop warhammer, and one member who speaks a little bit of Gaellic Smiley They wanted very much for me to speak with them in vent, but demurred when I explained my visiting family would kill me.  They did not ask about our membership numbers or class balance.
Website: www.eridanilighthorse.net

Server: Iron Rock
Guild: Ascension
Nobody answered my questions in the /advice channel.  In the responses, I was told that women don’t play MMOs and also that they belong in harems.  Smiley.  I found this guild by looking for level 40 healers.  There were hardly any on the server when I was on (10PM PST).  I spoke with their officer Wargrudge (his main is Warhealer).  Their other officers are Darkmore/Baru, Bulor/Lieph.  Their guild leader is Jalis.  They weren’t able to invite me into their guild as they have set policies and requirements I would have to meet.  But after our conversation, Wargrudge was very interested in merging with our alliance and invited our guild leaders to talk with his alliance guild leaders.  They have 7 guilds in their alliance and have 3 slots available.  Wargrudge said that he thinks the guild leader is already talking to guilds from PT.
They had 14 members on during our talk and they were running a guild-only LV raid.  Wargrudge was their main tank but he made time to talk to me.  War said they were one of the most active guilds on the server. They try to run alliance-only warbands in RvR but lately they’ve been running “a lot of PUGs” to help & teach the rest of Order.  He said that Order on their server was “severely outnumbered and demoralized”.

When it was his turn to ask me questions, he asked how many active members we had and also if we had DPS.  He felt that the entire IR server is lacking in bright wizards right now.
Their guild has one woman member, a RR76 WL.
Website: http://www.ascension-war.com/

I think Badlands would give us an environment that feels most like PT, but that Iron Rock needs our numbers more keenly.  Whatever happens, I would love to see our alliance join with an existing alliance on the new server.  We might lose old friends, but we can also make new ones.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Gotti
    December 14, 2009 at 2:41 am

    Glad to have you all on our server 🙂 you made the right choice!

    Now if we can just get you feeling better…

    take care

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

